We teach the eight limbs of Patanjali’s limbs of yoga to the students in the Foundation series.

This beginners course runs for eight weeks and is the perfect opportunity to chat about the eight limbs, as part of their introduction to yoga: the steps Patanjali wrote about to reach Samadhi or enlightenment.

Ahimsa, one of the limbs been on my mind lately – and by on my mind, I mean: can’t think of anything else.

Ahimsa means non-harm.

Simple enough, right?

Except no. Ahimsa is a term that can refers to how you treat yourself and others, which makes it a hell of a lot more complex that it seems.

Lying, yes. Stealing, yes. Being unkind, yes.

Cutting yourself, yes that is not ahimsa. Overdosing on your drug of choice, yes – that too. Working in a toxic environment, yes!

Overeating? Belittling your body? Not showing up for your own health? Keeping company that isn’t supportive and encouraging – that isn’t ok either.

Us lying about all of these little things to ourselves, that’s one of the other limbs, called Satya. This refers the truth. Patanjali apparently knew modern society way better than we know ourselves.

We are made as a whole, and yes, none of us are perfectly balanced all the time, that’s why yoga.

We practice: we practice our reactions, we practice our self-talk, we practice listening actively and recognising when something isn’t ok anymore. We practice listening to our bodies, because they seems to know when something is wrong long before our minds do.

We practice this, because we’re human.

But we also practice to be ok: we practice making better choices and listening and actively, every single day making choices that help and not hurt us.

That, is ahimsa.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Follow us

​© 2012 by Pure Peace Yoga +27 (0)76 813 2825

  • YouTube
  • Facebook - White Circle